26.8 C
New Delhi
April 16, 2024
Power Sportz Magazine
Cricket News

WTC Final 2023: Winners to receive $1.6 million as ICC announces prize money

WTC Final Prize Money

The Australia-India ICC World Test Championship (WTC) Final 2023 will have a significant incentive for both teams. The victors would get $1.6 million in prize money in addition to the crowning glory in the longest format of the game.

Meanwhile, the losing finalist will receive $800,000 as a new champion is set to be crowned this time. The championship final will be held at The Oval in London from June 7 to 11, with the 12th serving as a reserve day.

The tournament prize money is the same as in the inaugural edition – ICC World Test Championship 2019-21 ($3.8 million). In Southampton two years ago, the Kane Williamson-led New Zealand team was rewarded with $1.6 million.

This was in addition to the glittering Mace for an eight-wicket win over India in the six-day final. The $3.8 million payout will be shared by all nine ICC World Test Championship 2021-23 players.

South Africa won $450,000 for being third in the ICC World Test Championship 2021-23 standings. England, which staged a late comeback in the two-year cycle with an aggressive playing style, finished fourth, earning $350,000.

Sri Lanka, who were in contention for a place in the final before their series setback in New Zealand, fell to fifth position. Their reward money is worth $200,000.

Sixth-ranked New Zealand, seventh-ranked Pakistan, eighth-ranked West Indies, and ninth-ranked Bangladesh will each receive $100,000.

The WTC Final 2023

Meanwhile, India will hope to secure their first WTC title after coming out as runners-up in last cycle’s final.

The Aussies vs the Men in Blues is always a nail-biting content and it will surely be a fascinating watch for the neutrals as the arch-rivals lock horns.

Rohit Sharma can lift his first ICC trophy as India makes their second consecutive WTC Final.

For more Sports updates please follow us on Twitter

Related posts

A Birthday Bash on the Pitch: Virat Kohli Turns 35 on 5th November as India Takes on South Africa

Andrew Scott

“The only opinion that matters is my opinion” says Bumrah

Rajendra Prasad

Healthy competition helps improve my performance, says Ishant Sharma

Rajendra Prasad