40.1 C
New Delhi
May 21, 2024
Power Sportz Magazine
Cricket News

Sunil Gavaskar justifies Ajinkya Rahane’s selection in India’s WTC final

Sunil Gavaskar justifies Ajinkya Rahane selection

After a string of disappointing performances on the international level Ajinkya Rahane was withdrawn from India’s Test squad. He was also removed from the BCCI’s contractual player list, putting his career in international cricket in jeopardy.

However, in the just-finished Ranji Trophy season, the 34-year-old played some excellent cricket. The veteran Indian batsman scored 634 runs in just seven matches and has continued his form in the on-going IPL.

Thus, as a result, Rahane was named in India’s squad, which will face Australia in the World Test Championship finals.

Former India cricketer Sunil Gavaskar was pleased with Rahane’s inclusion in the Test squad. Moreover, the former Indian batter also noted that it was critical because Shreyas Iyer and Rishabh Pant are now out of action.

However, the 73-year-old also stated that he is unsure who will be warming the bench between KL Rahul and KS Bharat. While talking about Rahane’s return in the Indian squad, while speaking to Star Sports Gavaskar stated:

“That was the only change needed for the Indian side. They needed a replacement for Shreyas Iyer. Ajinkya Rahane finds himself in the WTC squad not because of his current IPL form, mind you, he was in a pretty decent form in the Ranji Trophy. He did very well for Mumbai in the domestic season. The question now is in the final eleven, who’s going to be playing? Whether it will be KS Bharat the wicket-keeper or KL Rahul. We’ll just have to wait and see,”

Gavaskar stated while speaking to Star Sports.

Meanwhile, the renowned cricketer revealed his anticipated XI for India’s match against Australia. Notably, the former opener chose out-of-favour batter KL Rahul for the final over KS Bharat, and he also chose Jaydev Unadkat as the third seamer over Umesh Yadav and Shardul Thakur.

“Rohit Sharma and Shubman Gill will be my opening picks, Cheteshwar Pujara at three, Virat Kohli at four, Ajinkya Rahane at five, KL Rahul at six who’ll keep the wickets as well. Then there will be Ravindra Jadeja and Ravichandran Ashwin, followed by Jaydev Unadkat, Mohammed Shami and Mohd Siraj,”

Gavaskar concluded.

For more Sports updates please follow us on Twitter

Related posts

Former India cricketer Mohammad Azharuddin elected as HCA president

Rajendra Prasad

ICC to make a case for Cricket in the 2028 Olympics

Vishal Bhawani

Rwanda skittled out Mali for 6, a record lowest score in women’s T20