34 C
New Delhi
April 16, 2024
Power Sportz Magazine
Cricket News

USA to make their 1st appearance in Cricket World Cup as co-host

USA World Cup

The USA Cricket Association (USCA) has praised the International Cricket Council‘s (ICC) decision to grant automatic qualification for the 2024 Men’s T20 World Cup.

Although both their men’s and women’s teams have a chance to qualify for the tournaments, the US team (men’s) is now certain to play in what might be their first-ever World Cup appearance.

According to ICC’s announcement, USA will co-host the T20 World Cup 2024 alongside West Indies. On this note USA’s cricket team head coach, J Arun Kumar said

“We are delighted to receive confirmation from the ICC that we will gain automatic qualification for the historic 2024 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup to be co-hosted here in USA with the West Indies. For USA to play in the expanded 20 team T20 World Cup on home soil is going to be ground-breaking and historic for cricket as the sport continues to expand around the world and we’re really looking to being a part of it in 2024.”

The ICC announced after its board meeting in Dubai that 12 teams will qualify for the tournament automatically. The top eight teams from the 2022 Twenty World Cup (held in Australia in October-November) will be joined by the two host countries, West Indies and the United States.

Two more qualifiers will be determined by the ranking as of November 14, 2022, with the remaining eight spaces determined by a regional qualification process, with Africa, Asia, and Europe qualifying two teams apiece, and the Americas and EAP qualifying one team each.

ICC also added saying

“If West Indies finish in the top eight in Australia later this year, three teams will progress based on rankings and if outside the top eight two teams will qualify from the rankings table,” 

USA Women will also have a chance to play in the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2024

The ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2024 qualification path has also been determined. The top three teams from each group of the 2023 tournament, as well as the host (if not one of the six) and next highest ranked teams on the Women’s T20 rankings table at a pre-determined date, will obtain automatic qualification into the event.

The release also stated

“The remaining two teams will be identified through the Women’s T20 World Cup global qualifier,”

The eight-team Women’s ODI World Cup qualification path was also established. At the conclusion of the 2022-25 ICC Women’s Championship, the yet-to-be-determined host nation, along with the following five highest-placed teams, will automatically qualify (IWC). The remaining two teams will be determined by a worldwide qualifying tournament that will include the four lowest-ranked countries in the IWC as well as two teams from the ODI rankings.

In the same statement, the ICC said the Board supported a recommendation to provide ODI status to a number of Associate Member women’s teams, allowing them to compete in global qualifying events based on ODI rankings.

Related posts

PCB to wait for BCCI’s confirmation till June 2020 for Asia Cup in Pakistan

Rajendra Prasad

Chennai Super Kings announce opening of academy in Tiruppur

Vishal Bhawani

Mike Hesson quits as Kings XI Punjab coach