27.1 C
New Delhi
April 24, 2024
Power Sportz Magazine
Cricket News

Virat Kohli returns to Indian T20 squad for Asia Cup 2022 while Bumrah to recover from injury

Indian squad for Asia Cup 2022

The T20 roster of the Indian team for the Asia Cup has been selected which embarks the return of the former Indian skipper. Virat Kohli will be back after a hiatus of more than a month following the completion of the tour of England on July 17.

However, Jasprit Bumrah did not make the roster that was announced late on Monday night. Because, according to PTI, he has a back ailment. Moreover, due to a rib ailment, Harshal Patel was also not available for selection.

KL Rahul returned as vice-captain as well, having missed every India match since the IPL 2022 season ended in May. Rahul was initially injured in the groyne, had surgery for a sports hernia, tested positive for Covid-19, and was consequently disqualified from the Caribbean tour.

After the tour of England, Bumrah chose not to travel to the West Indies, and he was also given a break from the forthcoming ODI series in Zimbabwe. He reportedly experienced back spasms the previous week and travelled to Bengaluru’s National Cricket Academy, where he had a niggle-related diagnosis.

Kohli will not play in the ODIs in Zimbabwe because he was rested from the most recent ODI and T20I series in the Caribbean.

Since the T20 World Cup ended in November of last year, Kohli has only participated in four T20 international matches and has missed 19. He has scored 81 runs at an average of 20 and a strike rate of 128.57. His performance with Royal Challengers Bangalore in the IPL 2022 was questionable (341 runs, average 22.73, strike rate 116), and in his most recent T20Is in England, he only managed to score 1 and 11.

Indian squad selected for the T20 Asia Cup 2022

In India’s T20I team for the Asia Cup, Arshdeep Singh, Ravi Bishnoi, Avesh Khan, and Deepak Hooda have all kept their positions. Ishan Kishan, Kuldeep Yadav, and Sanju Samson—all of whom participated in the recent five-T20I series in the West Indies—were left out of the 15-man roster and were instead designated as stand-by players.

Prior to the home series against Australia and South Africa and the T20 World Cup starting in Australia in October, the Asia Cup is India’s third-to-last T20I assignment.

The most recent ODI-format Asia Cup match took place in 2018, and India is the reigning champion. They had triumphed over Bangladesh in a nail-biting game that came down to the final ball in Dubai.

India will face Pakistan in their opening match of the T20 Asia Cup on August 28. This will be the first time the two teams have faced one other since their encounter in the T20 World Cup last year.

Let’s have a look at the Indian squad selected for the Asia Cup 2022:

Rohit Sharma (C), KL Rahul (VC), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant(Wk), Deepak Hooda, Dinesh Karthik (Wk), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravi Bishnoi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan.

For more Sports updates please follow us on Twitter

Related posts

Jofra Archer won’t be playing in today’s test match

Daniel Smith

India announce their test squad to face New Zealand

Aaditya Sibal

Former India Test cricketer Madhav Apte passed away

Rajendra Prasad