17.9 C
New Delhi
February 24, 2024
Power Sportz Magazine
Cricket News

WI Tour: Youngsters reinforce Team India amid rumors of Dhoni’s retirement

BCCI selectors have finalized on the players who’d be leaving for West Indies in early August for the month-long tour. While the buzz is around MS Dhoni’s retirement plans, the selectors met on Sunday to pick the team for the West Indies tour from August 03-September 03. While Dhoni has been ruled out for this tour, all the focus and precedence has been shifted to Rishabh Pant. Wriddhiman Saha, who was out due to injury, has also been called for the two Tests against the Indies. Saha, who played in 32 Tests, scoring 1164 runs, including three tons, 75 catches, 10 stumpings, was injured last year in January during the Cape Town Test against the Proteas. Saha, being a veteran and BCCI norms, pipped KS Bharat, who was supposed to get the call.

Saha with Virat Kohli (Picture credits: Jagaran.com)

Players who would feature in all three formats are Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, K.L. Rahul, Ravindra Jadeja, and Rishabh Pant. A surprise elimination of the tour is that of Hardik Pandya, who would miss out on all three formats during the tour. Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Washington Sundar, Chahar brothers, and Navdeep Saini have been given a chance.

Following are the respective squads for the entire tour:

The squads are as follows :

Squad for 3 T20Is (Aug 3, 4 and 6): Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma (VC), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant (WK), Krunal Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Washington Sundar, Rahul Chahar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Khaleel Ahmed, Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini

Squad for 3 ODIs (Aug 8, 11, and 14): Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma (VC), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kedar Jadhav, Mohammed Shami, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Khaleel Ahmed, Navdeep Sain

Squad for 2 Tests (Aug 22-26, and Aug 30-Sept. 3): Virat Kohli (Captain), Ajinkya Rahane (VC), Mayank Agarwal, KL Rahul, C Pujara, Hanuma Vihari, Rohit Sharma, Rishabh Pant (WK) Wriddhiman Saha (WK), R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Umesh Yada

Image credits: BCCI

Related posts

MS Dhoni out of WI tour? Conjectures rife of a potential retirement


Have utmost respect for what Sourav Ganguly has achieved as a cricketer, says Ravi Shastri

Rajendra Prasad

Kolkata turned pink to brace historic occasion

Rajendra Prasad