35.1 C
New Delhi
June 17, 2024
Power Sportz Magazine
Cricket News Sports Viral

Bumrah receives Polly Umrigar and Dilip Sardesai Award


Indian fast bowler Jaspreet Bumrah was to be awarded with Polly Umrigar Award (Best International Cricketer of the Year 2018-19) and Dilip Sardesai Award by the BCCI. He received this award at the annual awards ceremony held in Mumbai on Sunday. Polly Umrigar Trophy is awarded to the best male international cricketer. Along with this, you get a citation, trophy and a prize money of Rs 15 lakh

The Dilip Sardesai Award is given to the highest wicket-taker and highest run-scorer in Test cricket. Bumrah took 34 wickets in six matches, three times in which he managed to get five or more wickets in the innings. Saurashtra Test specialist Cheteshwar Pujara received the award among the batsmen. He scored 677 runs in eight matches at an average of 52.07 from three centuries and two half-centuries.

Indian leg spinner Poonam Yadav received the top prize in the women’s category. She was also recently awarded the Arjuna Award.

Former India captains Krishnamachari Srikkanth and Anjum Chopra were awarded the Colonel CK Nayudu Lifetime Achievement Award and the BCCI Lifetime Achievement Award for Women respectively.

Mayank Agarwal, who made his 2018-19 debut in Australia, received the best international debut in the men’s category, while 15-year-old Shefali Verma received the award in the women’s category. Mumbai’s all-rounder Shivam Dubey received the Lala Amarnath Award for the best all-rounder in the Ranji Trophy, while Delhi’s Nitish Rana received the award for doing well in limited-overs competitions.

Image Credit: Twitter

Related posts

IPL 2022: CSK vs KKR – Team News, Predicted Lineup & Match Preview

Vishal Bhawani

Michael Vaughan hits back at troll by Shakib Al Hasan fans

Rajendra Prasad

#HappybirthdaySmritiMandhana: The wonder girl of Indian women’s cricket