40.7 C
New Delhi
May 29, 2024
Power Sportz Magazine
Cricket News Sports Viral

ICC Award: Rohit Sharma Named “2019 ODI Cricketer Of The Year”, Virat gets ‘Spirit of Cricket’


The International Cricket Council (ICC) released the 2019 award list on Wednesday. Indian opener Rohit Sharma became ODI Cricketer of the Year for the first time. Also, Virat Kohli was selected as the captain of the Test and ODI team. Kohli was given ‘Spirit of Cricket’ Award for sportsmanship at the World Cup 2019. He prevented fans from teasing Steve Smith during the World Cup match against Australia and had requested to applaud Smith.Kohli was elected captain of both teams for the third consecutive time. Earlier in 2017 and 2018 also he was made captain of ODI and Test team.

Ben Stokes was awarded the ‘Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy’ for the Player of the Year award. Thanks to this dashing all-rounder, England won the World Cup for the first time. At the same time, 28-year-old Stokes had scored a strong unbeaten 135 runs in the Test and won the Leeds Test against England by one wicket.

Australia’s Marnus Labuschagne was named men’s emerging cricketer of the year. Marnus Labuschagne scored 1104 runs in 11 matches for his country.

Pat Cummins, with 59 wickets in Test cricket last season, was named the Test Cricketer of the Year by ICC.

Richard Illingworth, former England Test cricketer, bagged the ICC Umpire of the Year award.

India’s Deepak Chahar got the T20I Performance of the Year award for his magical figures of six for seven against Bangladesh, including a hat-trick.

Scotland’s Kyle Coetzer, who averaged 48.88 in 2019, won the associate cricketer of the year award.

Award and Awardee

  • Umpire of the Year: Richard Illingworth
  • ODI Cricketer of the Year: Rohit Sharma (India)
  • 2019 Spirit of Cricket Award: Virat Kohli (India)
  • T20I Performance of the Year: Deepak Chahar (6/7 vs Bangladesh)
  • Test Cricketer of the Year: Pat Cummins (Australia)
  • Emerging Cricketer of the Year: Marnus Labushane (Australia)
  • Associate Cricketer of the Year: Kyle Kotzer (Scotland)
  • Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy: Ben Stokes (England)

ICC ODI Team of the Year 2019: Rohit Sharma, Shai Hope, Virat Kohli (c), Babar Azam, Kane Williamson, Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler (wk), Mitchell Starc, Trent Boult, Mohammed Shami, Kuldeep Yadav.

ICC Test Team of the Year 2019: Mayank Agarwal, Tom Latham, Marnus Labuschagne, Virat Kohli (c), Steve Smith, Ben Stokes, BJ Watling (wk), Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Neil Wagner, Nathan Lyon

Image Credit: Twitter

Related posts

Ex-Indian selector gives an astonishing response to KS Bharat vs KL Rahul debate

Vishal Bhawani

India Vs West Indies 1st ODI: Virat Kohli responds on Ravindra Jadeja’s Controversial Run-Out

Powersportz Studio

Reports: SL and BAN players to be banned from playing IPL 2023

Vishal Bhawani