26.8 C
New Delhi
April 16, 2024
Power Sportz Magazine
Football News

World Cup winner Lionel Messi named 2022 Best FIFA Men’s Player

Messi the best FIFA Men's award winner for 2022

Lionel Messi, a forward for Paris Saint-Germain and Argentina, has been awarded The Best FIFA Men’s Player for 2022. With La Albiceleste, the 35-year-old fulfilled a lifelong ambition by winning the World Cup in Qatar.

He also took home the Golden Ball for being the competition’s best player. Messi also helped PSG in winning the Ligue 1 title in the 2021–22.

Moreover, the Argentine scored 7 goals and dished out 3 assists in Qatar including a brace in the finals of World Cup 2022. The seven-time Ballon d’Or winner won this award for the second time since 2019.

Although the little boy from rosario santa fe did struggled in his initial season with the French capital. But he already has 17 goals and 16 assists from 28 games in the current season (2022-23).

Messi beat PSG teammate Kylian Mbappe and Real Madrid attacker Karim Benzema to the accolade. Thus, the 35-year-old was also voted into the FIFA FIFPRO Men’s World XI alongside the two Frenchmen.

Other awards for FIFA Men’s and Women’s player

The men’s team, which also included Luka Modric, Kevin De Bruyne, Casemiro, Joao Cancelo, Achraf Hakimi, Virgil van Dijk, and Thibaut Courtois, concluded a terrifying attack with Erling Braut Haaland.

Alexia Putellas of Barcelona and Spain won The Best Women’s Player award, and she will keep that title through the year 2021 after also taking home back-to-back Ballon d’Or Femenin honours.

Beth Mead, Alex Morgan, and Putellas were all named in the FIFA FIFPRO Women’s World XI, with Mead being one of four England players along with Lucy Bronze, Leah Williamson, and Keira Walsh. Putellas won the vote over Mead and Morgan.

In addition to Samantha Kerr, Wendie Renard, Lena Oberdorf, and Christiane Endler, there were spots for Putellas and Mapi Leon to complete the Spanish presence on the squad.

In other news, Sarina Wiegman, the manager of England, won the women’s award, beating Carlo Ancelotti and Pep Guardiola, and Lionel Scaloni, the manager of Argentina, who won the World Cup.

Emiliano Martinez defeated Francois Courtois and Yassine Bounou to win the men’s goalkeeper trophy, adding to La Albiceleste’s victory.

The Best FIFA Women’s Goalkeeper award went to Mary Earps over Ann-Katrin Berger and Endler, cementing England’s Lionesses’ dominance in the women’s categories.

Marcin Oleksy, a Polish football player with an artificial leg, earned the Puskas Award for the game’s best goal after he scored an incredible bicycle kick for Warta Poznań versus Stal Rzeszow.

The Cremonese defender Luka Lochoshvili earned the FIFA Fair Play Award for saving Georg Teigl’s life while playing for Wolfsberger against Austria Wien in February, and Argentina beat out Japan and Saudi Arabia to win the FIFA Fan Award for their boisterous support in Qatar.

For more Sports updates please follow us on Twitter

Related posts

Wayne Carey swipes Jaidyn Stephenson over social media posts

Andrew Scott

Manchester United French attacking duo want to leave the club!

Aaditya Sibal

Real Madrid offered a chance to sign Chelsea’s Timo Werner

Vishal Bhawani