40.1 C
New Delhi
June 19, 2024
Power Sportz Magazine
T20 World Cup

New Zealand beat England to enter the finals of the T20 world cup


New Zealand has become the first finalist of the T20 world cup; their road till the finals has been extremely difficult. They started their campaign on an unfavourable note losing out to Pakistan in their first match by 5 wickets. However, Kane Williamson’s side made a great comeback beating by winning their remains group games. They beat India, Afghanistan, Scotland and Namibia. New Zealand qualified for the semifinals; where they faced England.

Williamson’s side won the toss and elected to bowl first; England was able to up 166 runs on the board. The top scorers for their side were Moeen Ali with 51 runs, David Malan with 41 runs and Jos Buttler with 29 runs. The bowlers from New Zealand were only able to take four wickets; these wickets came through Southee, Milne, Sodhi and Neesham.

England wasn’t able to defend the target their opposition put up; New Zealand won the match by a margin of five wickets with 6 balls to spare. The victory came by the way of Daryl Mitchell who had a knock of 72 runs in 47 deliveries. Along with Mitchell the duo of Devon Conway and James Neesham helped their side chase down the target with ease. Devon scored 46 runs and Neesham scored 27 runs. There were only three wicket-takers for England who were; Liam Livingstone and Chris Woakes with two wickets each and Adil Rashid with one wicket.

Who will New Zealand play in the finals of the T20 world cup?

New Zealand will play in the final of the world cup; the match will take place on the 14th of November at 7:30 pm IST. They will play the winner of the second semifinals; In the second semifinal of the cup Pakistan takes on Australia. this match will take place on the 11th of November.

Who do you think will reach the final of the cup?

Related posts

England are ready to face the defending champions

Aaditya Sibal

ICC has announced their most valuable team from the ICC T20 world cup

Aaditya Sibal

Australia are the champions of the ICC T20 world cup!

Aaditya Sibal